St. Olaf College Archives Citation Guide

An Article on a Website

Author’s Last Name, First Name and Middle Initial. “Title of the Article.” Name of Website. Name of the Publishing Institution, Date of Creation (Day Month Year). Stable URL/DOI. Date Accessed.

“Welcome to the College Archives!” St. Olaf College Archives. St. Olaf College. https://wp.stolaf.edu/archives. Accessed 7 September 2023.

Audio Files

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of the Work (or a Description if the Title is Unknown).” Name of the Digital Format (e.g. MP3 or Streaming Audio File). Publication Date. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

“Shooting Ytterboe the Dog.” Streaming audio file. Sounds. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. www.stolaf.edu/files/archives/sounds/ytterboe_dog.ra. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Larson, Agnes. “Agnes Larson.” Streaming audio file. Sounds. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. www.stolaf.edu/files/archives/sounds/larson.rm. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Books and Other Print Material

Author’s Last Name, First Name and Middle Initial. Title of Book. City of Publication (Only if the Book was Published Before 1900), Publisher, Publication Date. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

Shaw, Joseph M. Dear Old Hill: The Story of Manitou Heights, the Campus of St. Olaf College. St. Olaf College, 1992. College Histories Collection. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/5864116ee758ae3132299914. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Viking Yearbook: 1938. St. Olaf College, 1938. The Viking Collection. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/588a213de758aea74cf0fcdc. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Magazine Articles (e.g. St. Olaf Alumni Magazine)

Author’s Last Name, First Name, “Title of Article.” Magazine Title, Date of Publication (Day Month Year), Volume No., Issue No., Page Range. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

“Lutheran Brotherhood Winner Selected.” St. Olaf Alumni Magazine. Autumn 1952, vol.1, no.1, pp. 1-2. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. https://www.stolaf.edu/apps/fram/index.cfm
fuseaction=Details&scope=magazine&id=1464. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Newspapers (e.g. The Manitou Messenger)

Author’s Last Name, First Name, “Title of Article.” Newspaper Title (Place Published if Newspaper is Local or not Well-Known), Date of Publication (Day Month Year), Volume No., Issue No., Page Range. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

Bersing, Simon. “Juvenile Corner.” The Manitou Messenger (Northfield, MN), Mar. 1888, p.41-42. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://stolaf.eastview.com/browse/doc/46483341. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Photographs and Images

Creator’s Last Name, First Name. Title of the Work. Date of Creation. The Housing Institute and City. Name of Website, Website URL. Elevator Item Number, Name of Collection and Photo ID Number. Housing Department, Location. Date of Access.

Academy Class Basketball Team. 1909. St. Olaf College, Northfield. St. Olaf College Archives, http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/viewAsset/
589267d9e758ae345c8caeb1. Archives-photo-00130 in Elevator,  sto_028_f in Photographs Collection. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Beauty and the Beast. St. Olaf College, Northfield. St. Olaf College Archives, http://elevator.stolaf.edu/naha/search/
querySearch/Beauty%20and%20the%20beast. naha-photo-00088 in Elevator, rolf_erickson_001 in Wisconsin Photographs Collection. Norwegian-American Historical Association (NAHA), St. Olaf College, Northfield MN. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Physical Objects Found Online

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of the Work, the Date of Creation. Materials of Composition (e.g. “Lithograph on paper”). Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

Oexning, Lars J. Homecoming Crown, 1953. Norwegian silver. Sesquicentennial Collection. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/5af3ad5529b266159172ba11. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Collegiate Manufacturing Company. Stuffies, 1950s. Fabric and stuffing. Sesquicentennial Collection. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/5af3381e29b26617b90227c2. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Video

Creator’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of the Video.” Title of the Website, Version, Numbers, Publisher, Publication date. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

“1961 @ Beloit College.” St. Olaf College Archives, 30 Sept. 1961. Football Seasons Collection. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/5acd05b529b2666c3d3ae4f1. Accessed 5 July 2018.

“1964 vs. Carleton College.” St. Olaf College Archives. 23 Oct. 1964. Football Games Collection. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/5ad8e0a529b2665ff10d5ff1. Accessed 5 July 2018.     

Written Primary Sources (e.g. Letters, Minutes, Reports)

Author’s Last Name, First Name. Brief Description of Document. Date. Box number, Folder number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

Laingen, Al. Transcript of the Special Service of Thanksgiving for the Release of Fifty-Two American Hostages in Iran. January 21, 1981. Sesquicentennial Collection. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/5b365e5c29b26614331db5ab. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Berg, Harold. Letter to Jack Laugen. March 16, 1965. Archives-photo-00272 in Elevator, 1680_REEB_002 in Photographs Collection. St. Olaf College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/589267e1e758ae345c8caf3f. Accessed 5 July 2018.