St. Olaf College Archives Citation Guide

An Article on a Website

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Web Page.” Publishing Organization. Publication Date. URL. Access Date.

“Naming of the Shaw-Olson Center.” St. Olaf College. https://wp.stolaf.edu/archives. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Audio Files

Author’s Last Name, First Name and Middle Initial. Title of Work, with Performers, Ensemble, and Conductor, Recording Date, on Disc Title, Record Label #, Release Year, Format. Stable URL/doi. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. Date Accessed.

Shooting Ytterboe the Dog. Streaming audio file. www.stolaf.edu/files/archives/sounds/ytterboe_dog.ra. Sounds. Shaw-Olson Center for College History, St. Olaf College, Northfield MN. Accessed July 5 2018.

Larson, Agnes. Agnes Larson. Streaming audio file. www.stolaf.edu/files/archives/sounds/larson.rm. Sounds. Shaw-Olson Center for College History, St. Olaf College, Northfield MN. Accessed July 5 2018.

Books and Other Print Material

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

Shaw, Joseph M. Dear Old Hill: The Story of Manitou Heights, the Campus of St. Olaf College. St. Olaf College, 1992. College Histories Collection. College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/viewAsset/
5864116ee758ae3132299914. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Viking Yearbook: 1938. St. Olaf College, 1938. The Viking Collection. College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/viewAsset/
588a213de758aea74cf0fcdc. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Video

Creator’s Last Name, First Name.“Video Title”. Date. Medium, Duration. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

“1961 @ Beloit College.” Sept. 1961. MP4 Video File, 12:26. Football Seasons Collection. St. Olaf Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/5acd05b529b2666c3d3ae4f1. Accessed 5 July 2018.

“1964 vs. Carleton College.” Oct. 1964. MP4 Video File, 4:17. Football Games Collection. St. Olaf Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/5ad8e0a529b2665ff10d5ff1. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Magazine Articles (e.g. St. Olaf Alumni Magazine)

First Name, Last Name. “Title of Article,” Magazine Title, Date. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

“Lutheran Brotherhood Winner Selected.” St. Olaf Alumni Magazine, Autumn 1952. College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. https://www.stolaf.edu/apps/fram/index.cfm?fuseaction=Details&scope=magazine&id=1464. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Newspapers (e.g. The Manitou Messenger)

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Column Title,” Newspaper Name (City and State if the Newspaper is Not Well-Known), Month Day Year. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

Bersing, Simon. “Juvenile Corner.” The Manitou Messenger (Northfield, MN), Mar. 1888. College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://stolaf.eastview.com/browse/doc/4648334. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Photographs and Images

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Photograph.” Year Created. Elevator Item Number, Name of Collection and Photo ID Number. Housing Department, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

 “Academy Class Basketball Team.” 1909. Archives-photo-00130 in Elevator, sto_028_f in Photographs Collection. Shaw-Olson Center for College History, St .Olaf College, Northfield MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/viewAsset/589267d9e758ae345c8caeb1. Accessed 5 July  2018

“Beauty and the Beast.” naha-photo-00088 in Elevator, rolf_erickson_001 in Wisconsin Photograph Collection. Norwegian-American Historical Association (NAHA), St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/naha/search/querySearch/Beauty%20and%20the%20beast.  Accessed 5 July 2018.

Physical Objects Found Online

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of the Work.” Date. Materials of Composition (e.g. “Lithograph on Paper”). Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

Oexning, Lars J. “Homecoming Crown.” 1953. Norwegian silver. Sesquicentennial Collection. College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/viewAsset/5af3ad5529b266159172ba11. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Collegiate Manufacturing Company. “Stuffies.” 1950s. Fabric and stuffing. Sesquicentennial Collection. College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/viewAsset/5af3381e29b26617b90227c2. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Written Primary Sources (e.g. Letters, Minutes, Reports)

Author’s Last Name, First Name. Brief Description of Document. Date. Box Number, Folder Number. Unique Identifier and Collection Name. Archives Name, Institutional Affiliation, Location. URL. Date Accessed.

Laingen, Al. Transcript of the Special Service of Thanksgiving for the Release of Fifty-Two American Hostages in Iran. January 21, 1981. Sesquicentennial Collection. College Archives, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/5b365e5c29b26614331db5ab. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Berg, Harold. Harold Berg to Jack Laugen. March 16, 1965. Archives-photo-00272 in Elevator, 1680_REEB_002 in Photographs Collection. Shaw-Olson Center for College History, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN. http://elevator.stolaf.edu/archives/asset/
viewAsset/589267e1e758ae345c8caf3f. Accessed 5 July 2018.