Art 264: Race and Difference in Medieval Art
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Medieval Period in General
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowOnline resources in medieval and Renaissance studies, 400-1700. Collections include both primary and secondary sources.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe International Medieval Bibliography is the leading bibliography of articles concerning the European Middle Ages (c. 450-1500), drawn from the regular coverage of over 4,500 periodicals and miscellany volumes.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
Art Databases
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1984-present.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1929-1984.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new windowFounded in 1917, the Index of Medieval Art is one of the most important archives of medieval art in existence. It offers critically important resources for scholars of medieval visual culture.
- JSTOR Images This link opens in a new windowDiverse digital image library covering architecture, decorative arts, design, painting, photography, and sculpture from many cultures.