- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Interdisciplinary Studies 242: The Arts and Democracy
- Databases: Articles, Stats, Etc.
Interdisciplinary Studies 242: The Arts and Democracy
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Fine Arts Databases
Arts research databases will mostly be useful if you are looking for materials pertaining to education or community engagement. Be sure to add terms like "education" or "community engagement" to your searches, to filter out historically-based articles.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowMusic education journals are indexed in RILM.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowMusic education databases are indexed in MPD.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowTheatre and dance education journals are indexed in IBTD.
- Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index This link opens in a new windowDELRDI focuses specifically on dance pedagogy; a good source if you are working on a dance policy. The search interface is a little different from the ProQuest/EBSCO databases you usually work with -- contact Karen Olson if you need help.
Government Data
-
Catalog of Government Publications -- Congressional reports and other government documents
-
Statistical Data LibGuide -- Use the side menu to locate recommended sources; the Census and Demographic tabs might be most useful for state and national data
-
Government Data LibGuide -- Not finding what you need on the Stats guide? Try the Government Documents guide, especially for state and local info.
If you like maps and spreadsheets, here are directions for using Social Explorer to find and download census data. This is especially good for historical census data.
Education, Social Science, Political Science Databates
- Education Collection This link opens in a new windowResearch articles in the field of education. Includes ERIC and the Education Database, the two major indices for this area.
- PolicyFile This link opens in a new windowCurrent research in public policy, both national and domestic.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowResearch in political science, sociology, social work, and education, all in one place.
- voxgov This link opens in a new windowGovernment information -- not just official policy papers, but also social media posts, press releases and more. Click the "Education Login" button at the top of the screen to enter the search interface.
News Databases
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowActivist and radical magazines from 1991 to the present.