FYS 120W: Crime and Punishment: Race, Equity, and Justice
Research & Writing Tutors
Research Librarian
Reference Databases (Online Encyclopedia Collections)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Current Issues Database
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowFull-text reports on current issues including health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes background information, overviews, pros and cons, and sources for further research. Covers materials published 1991-present.
What is an encyclopedia?
What is an encyclopedia?
Encyclopedias contain unbiased background information about a variety of topics. It can be helpful to read an encyclopedia entry on your topic before you start looking for articles, books, or other sources.
Here are some examples of subject-specific encyclopedias:
Print reference sources (in Rolvaag Reference Room)
The Encyclopedia of Political ThoughtRolvaag Ref: JA71 .E63 2015
Encyclopedia of Law & SocietyRolvaag Ref: K583 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social JusticeRolvaag Ref: HM671 .E53 2007
Online reference sources
