FYS 120W: Crime and Punishment: Race, Equity, and Justice

Research & Writing Tutors

Research Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag 303

507.786.3793

Subjects: Business and Management Studies, Classics, French, German, Greek, Latin, Linguistic Studies, Middle East Studies, Norwegian, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Spanish

What is a scholarly journal?

A scholar's job is to create new knowledge.

They share their ideas and findings by publishing articles in scholarly (or academic) journals, like these:

It would take a long, long time to browse even these four journals to find articles on your topic and most of these articles are NOT available via Google, so where can you find what you need?

Library catalogs and databases are search engines to help you find academic articles. We subscribe to over 300 databases on a wide variety of topics. Search Catalyst (our library catalog) or one of the databases below to find articles on your topic.

Search Databases

Tips for searching for scholarly journal articles:

filter your results by Source Type - "Scholarly Journals"
also choose the "Peer Reviewed" filter

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus special reports, books, newsletters, and other materials in the areas of gender studies, women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer studies. Interdisciplinary and international. Covers materials published 1970-present.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Premium Collection from ProQuest includes international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. This collection contains databases such as the Sociology Database, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, Political Science Database, PAIS Index, PolicyFile, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Criminal Justice Database, Library Science Database, LISA, Education Database, ERIC and Linguistics Database.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1975-present.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews in philosophy. Covers materials published 1940-present.

"Evaluating Resources" from UC Berkeley

When you encounter any kind of source, consider:

Authority - Who is the author? What is their point of view?
Purpose - Why was the source created? Who is the intended audience?
Publication & format - Where was it published? In what medium?
Relevance - How is it relevant to your research? What is its scope?
Date of publication - When was it written? Has it been updated?
Documentation - Did they cite their sources? Who did they cite?

From Evaluating Resources at University of California, Berkeley.