- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Dance 270: Dance Anatomy & Kinesiology
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dance 270: Dance Anatomy & Kinesiology
Resources for Dance 270: Dance Anatomy & Kinesiology
Karen Olson
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are great for starting your research. They provide authoritative definitions of terms, biographies of influential people, and histories of styles and genres. They will help you learn the specific language surrounding a topic, so that you can develop better search terms to use in Catalyst or the research databases. Many will also include bibliographies listing other sources you might want to consult.
Dance & Music
Online
-
International Encyclopedia of Dance
by
An essential starting point for your research!
-
International Dictionary of Ballet
by
Call Number: Rolvaag Ref: GV 1585.I57 1993Includes entries on individual artists, ballets, and ballet companies. -
International Dictionary of Modern Dance
by
Call Number: Rolvaag Ref: GV 1585.B46All aspects of modern dance, including biographical entries and major movements and styles.
Kinesiology
Online
-
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
Describes all aspects of the field with perspectives, concepts, and methods from the medical, behavioral, and social sciences and physical education. -
Encyclopedia of Exercise Medicine in Health and Disease
Covers all aspects within the full range of modern exercise medicine of each particular scientific discipline (cancer, parasitology, aging, etc.)
General Reference
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.