FYS 120: Art & Gender in 17th Century Italy
Research & Writing Tutors
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Research Databases
Research databases are a good place to find subject-specific books and articles for your projects. Here are some good databases for this class.
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1984-present.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1929-1984.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
Getting Articles from the Databases
Many of our databases provide full text access to the materials they index. Look for a button or link that says full text.
If the full text is not directly available from the database you are in, you will see a FindIt! button. The FindIt! button searches Catalyst to see if we have access to the article in a different database.
If you click the FindIt! button, one of three things will happen.
1. You will be rerouted directly to the article.
2. You will taken to a Catalyst record for the article, which will provide options for accessing it in a different way.
This article is available in print over at Carleton. I could ask Carleton to send the appropriate volume to Rolvaag so I could read the article.
This article is available online in two different databases. Click your preferred database link to see the article.
3. You will be taken to a Catalyst record that says we do not have access to the article. See "Requesting Materials from Other Libraries" for instructions on how to make a Resource Sharing request for these materials.
