History 226: Modern France

LibKey Nomad

Research Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag 303

507.786.3793

Subjects: American Studies, Business and Management Studies, Classics, French, German, Greek, History, Latin, Linguistic Studies, Middle East Studies, Norwegian, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Spanish

Find Primary Sources

NewspaperARCHIVE This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world.

Gallica
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners. Online since 1997, Gallica contains millions of primary sources related to French history, language, and culture.

NOTE: Although Gallica ostensibly offers its website in both English and French, the English-language version of the site still includes text written only in French. To fully translate the site, view Gallica in Chrome and right-click on your screen, then click "Translate to English."

Find Scholarship

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.
Art Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1984-present.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular and trade magazines, and newspapers, plus film reviews, images, and books. Provides full-text access to many sources. Covers materials published 1914-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Index and full text databases covering sociology and social services. Includes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)‎ (1987 - current), Sociological Abstracts‎ (1952 - current), and Sociology Database‎ (1985 - current).

All St. Olaf Databases

All St. Olaf Databases
Not finding what you're needing in the list of databases above? Check out our list of all St. Olaf databases here.