- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Writing 120C: Climate Change and the Arts
- Finding Scholarly Articles
Writing 120C: Climate Change and the Arts
A research guide for artistic responses to climate change
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Environmental Studies Databases
Click here to view the recommended research databases for environmental studies.
Art and Literature Research Databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowRILM Abstracts of Music Literature, a bibliography of music articles, collections, and books, offers researchers and music scholars thousands of records in music research. Records are added and updated on a monthly basis.
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly journals, popular and trade magazines, and newspapers, plus film reviews, images, and books. Provides full-text access to many sources. Covers materials published 1914-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1984-present.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.
Interdisciplinary Research Databases
For topics like the intersection of climate change and the arts, it can be a good idea to look in interdisciplinary databases. These cover a wide range of topics and provide a good overview of the scholarly conversation that could spark your own research idea.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
Other Research Databases
St. Olaf College Libraries subscribe to many more research databases. Click here for a full list. You can use the dropdown menus at the top of the list to filter by subject (art, biology, history, etc.) and type of material (research, images, newspapers, etc.)
If you need help choosing databases or finding articles, make a research appointment with Karen!