History 224: Making Modern Germany

Research Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag 303

507.786.3793

Subjects: Business and Management Studies, Classics, French, German, Greek, History, Latin, Linguistic Studies, Middle East Studies, Norwegian, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Spanish

History Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.

Digital Collections

German Heritage Letters
A digital collection of German-American letters and correspondence.
German History in Documents and Images
A comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present.

Useful Subject Headings

Use these links to browse books and articles in the library related to these topics.

Browsing

Virtual Browsing:

Many book records in Catalyst (print or e-book) have a "Virtual Browse" section at the bottom of the catalog record. You can virtually browse the library shelves to see print books and e-books on the same subject.

In the Stacks:

Once you find a relevant print book in Catalyst, use the MAP IT! tool to discover its location in the library. Once you get to the section, browse the nearby titles to see if there are other books that address your topic, or even inspire a better, more refined topic!

For the main section of books on the 1848 Revolution and 19th century German history, head to call number section DD200 on the 5th floor.