- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- History 188B: Arctic Passages
- Find Background Info
History 188B: Arctic Passages
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Online Reference Books
The Handbook of the Arctic by
This book offers a broad and holistic overview of issues in the Arctic today, a region which is transforming due to changing world order and climate agenda. While new economic opportunities - and with China, as well as other geopolitical players in the region - are emerging, new security challenges are arising as well. In this comprehensive scholarly resource, contributors from around the world and from a broad variety of disciplines share their thoughts on the future of the Arctic, in a manuscript that will be of interest to researchers, economists, and policymakers.
ISBN: 9811692491Publication Date: 2022-12-25
Routledge Handbook of Indigenous Peoples in the Arctic by
This handbook brings together the expertise of Indigenous and non-Indigenous scholars to offer a comprehensive overview of issues surrounding the well-being, self-determination and sustainability of Indigenous peoples in the Arctic. Offering multidisciplinary insights from leading figures, this handbook highlights Indigenous challenges, approaches and solutions to pressing issues in Arctic regions, such as a warming climate and the loss of biodiversity. It furthers our understanding of the Arctic experience by analyzing how people not only survive but thrive in the planet's harshest climate through their innovation, ingenuity and agency to tackle rapidly changing environments and evolving political, social, economic and cultural conditions. The book is structured into three distinct parts that cover key topics in recent and future research with Indigenous Peoples in the Arctic. The first part examines the diversity of Indigenous peoples and their cultural expressions in the different Arctic states. It also focuses on the well-being of Indigenous peoples in the Arctic regions. The second part relates to the identities and livelihoods that Indigenous peoples in Arctic regions derive from the resources in their environments. This interconnection between resources and people's identities underscores their entitlements to use their lands and resources. The third and final part provides insights into the political involvement of Indigenous peoples from local all the way to the international level and their right to self-determination and some of the recent related topics in this field. This book offers a novel contribution to Arctic studies, empowering Indigenous research for the future and rebuilding the image of Indigenous peoples as proactive participants, signaling their pivotal role in the co-production of knowledge. It will appeal to scholars and students of law, political sciences, geography, anthropology, Arctic studies and environmental studies, as well as policy-makers and professionals.
ISBN: 1000283933Publication Date: 2020-12-03
The Eastern Arctic Seas Encyclopedia by
This Encyclopedia is designed to accumulate and systematize our knowledge about the unique natural water areas - the Laptev, East Siberian and Chukchi seas, their wealth, the events that took place on its waters and shores, and the remarkable people whose lives were and are closely intertwined with the seas. The Encyclopedia contains about 1,500 terms and concepts related to the seas in alphabetical order. It describes geographical features: rivers, lakes, straits, bays; provides information about towns, seaports, transport communications, basic aquatic biological species, nature reserves, national and international programs for the study of the sea, research institutes, historical monuments, activities of prominent explorers and travelers, researchers and scientists. The Encyclopedia also includes a chronology of major historical events connected with the Eastern Arctic seas for more than 400 years.
ISBN: 9783319242361Publication Date: 2016-10-19
The Western Arctic Seas Encyclopedia by
This Encyclopedia is designed to accumulate and systematize our knowledge about the unique natural water areas - the Barents, White and Kara seas, their wealth, the events that took place on its waters and shores, and the remarkable people whose lives were and are closely intertwined with the seas. The Encyclopedia contains about 900 terms and concepts related to the seas. It describes geographical features: rivers, lakes, straits, bays; provides information about towns, seaports, transport communications, basic aquatic biological species, nature reserves, national and international programs for the study of the sea, research institutes, historical monuments, activities of prominent explorers and travelers, researchers and scientists. The Encyclopedia includes a chronology of major historical events connected with the Western Arctic seas for more than 1200 years.
ISBN: 3319255819Publication Date: 2017-07-24
General Reference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Print Reference Books
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Call Number: St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Books (E77 .G15 1998)ISBN: 0787610887Publication Date: 1998-03-05Volume Three covers the Arctic, sub-Arctic, Great Plains, Great Basin and Plateau.
