- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- History 188B: Arctic Passages
- Find Primary Sources
History 188B: Arctic Passages
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
In Catalyst
There are 2 basic ways that you can search for primary literature in Catalyst:
1. Along with your basic keywords, use terms that point to primary sources such as:
- diaries
- correspondence
- letters
- pamphlets
- documents
- speeches
- manuscripts
- personal narratives
- interviews
2. Perform a search in Catalyst with basic keywords for your topic, find the Genre/Form set of filters to the left of your search results and open that group; check to see if there are any terms there that would point to a primary source and click on that filter OR click on the Sources filter and see if that leads you to a primary source.
- Special Collections SourcesThis Catalyst search shows primary sources related to the Arctic region that are housed in our Special Collections. You can make an appointment to view these materials at the link below.
In Library Databases
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, and statistics in both Western and non-Western languages from the 19th century. Includes four cross-searchable resources: "British Politics and Society," "Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange," "European Literature, 1790-1840", and "British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture."
- Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new windowA wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century. Contains over 59,489 letters and documents, cross-linked and referenced to each other.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources focusing on interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North American and European colonists.
- Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new windowMedieval Travel Writing provides direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages.