RAMAT130: Race Matters - Writing & Rhetoric

LibKey Nomad

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Africa and the African Diaspora, American Conversations, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Latin American Studies, Race and Ethnic Studies, Sociology/Anthropology

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2013
Provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2014
Contains original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
Multicultural America: An Encyclopedia of the Newest Americans
Call Number: E184.A1 M815 2011 (Reference Room)
Publication Date: 2012
American Decades
Call Number: e-book or Reference Room
Covers the years 1900-1999. Choose a volume or use the "Search within publication" box in the upper right-hand corner.
American Eras
Call Number: e-book or Reference Room
Pre-1600 to 1900. "Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history." Choose a volume or use the "Search within publication" box in the upper right-hand corner.

Be aware that anyone can edit entries in Wikipedia.
Consider it as a starting point for research; get to know your topic and identify important keywords.
Look for references to reliable, published sources (in the References or Bibliography sections).
Pay attention to the alert boxes and symbols. "Featured Articles" have a star to indicate their high quality; articles that are in need of updating (e.g. citation needed, newly available information, relies too much on primary sources) will be marked at the top of the page.