RAMAT130: Race Matters - Writing & Rhetoric

LibKey Nomad

Resource Sharing Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Africa and the African Diaspora, American Conversations, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Latin American Studies, Race and Ethnic Studies, Sociology/Anthropology

Using Catalyst

When searching in Catalyst, you can narrow your search results to include content only from material types that are most likely to be from popular sources (e.g. magazine articles, newspaper articles, web sources, etc.) To do this:

Enter your search terms into the Catalyst search bar on the homepage of the library website.
On the left side of the results page, expand the "Material Type" option.
Select the material types that are likely to be popular sources of information. See below for ideas as to which types these are.

News Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary sources in Black studies, including: introductory essays (full text), scholarly journal articles and magazine articles (some full-text access; covers articles published 1900-present), literary materials in Black newspapers and magazines (covers fiction, poetry, and reviews published 1827-1940), and digitized Black newspapers (covers materials published 1910-1993).

News Databases A-Z
All 40 of our news databases, ranging in content and coverage

Elsewhere Online

Popular sources are often found on the open web, as well. If you search on Google, you will find additional information sources like blogs, online publications, opinion forums, and, of course, social media.

While these sources are absolutely usable and sometimes great for your specific needs, it is always important to evaluate your sources for their reputability, relevance, and context.

The "Evaluate Sources" tab on this guide provides some important questions to ask yourself when you are looking at information of any kind, including these popular, non-peer review sources of information.