Music 281:Solo Vocal Literature I

Encyclopedias offer helpful overviews of topics and provide valuable bibliographies that lead to other trustworthy information.

Locate encyclopedias in the music reference collection, call number range REF ML 100-105.

• New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.  29 vols.  
  REF ML 100..N48 2001
  Part of Oxford Music Online (below) that is separately searchable.  The most scholarly music encyclopedia in the English language.  Be sure to use the bibliographies and list of composer's works at the end of articles. 

Use dictionaries to locate quick definitions or meanings of terms.

The Music Library owns many specialized dictionaries in the usic reference collection, call number range REF ML 100-109

• Harvard Dictionary of Music
  REF ML 100.A64 2003
  The basic dictionary of musical terms.  Does not contain biographical information.
  
  
• Terminorum Musicae Index: Septem Linguis Redactus
  REF ML108.T476
  Offers equivalent musical terms in seven languages.

For quick biographical information, consult:

• Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. 6 vols.
  REF ML 105.B2 2001
  
  
• Contemporary Musicians: Profiles of the People in Music.
  REF ML 105.C76 1989
  Easy-to-read articles about popular musicians and musical groups.  Be sure to use the cumulative index in the last volume!
  
  
• Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities, U.S. and Canada. 
  REF ML 13.D57
  A quick way to find out who works where.
  
  
• International Who's Who in Music and Musicians' Directory.
  REF ML105.I58
  Brief biographical coverage of living musicians, with useful appendices.  Vol. 1 covers classical music, vol. 2 popular.

Bibliographies can save you time and lead you to good quality information.

• The Art Song: A Research and Information Guide.
  ML 128.S3S33 1987
  Dated, but still gives quick access to books and articles about important composers and their works.