Middle East Studies 202: Middle Eastern Cinema

LibKey Nomad

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

RML 461

Subjects: Film and Media Studies, Film Studies, Media Studies

Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular and trade magazines, and newspapers, plus film reviews, images, and books. Provides full-text access to many sources. Covers materials published 1914-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book reviews, and conference papers on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Includes work in economics, education, archaeology, the natural and applied sciences, history (all periods), religion, philosophy, the arts, literature, and other areas. Covers materials published 1906-present. Earlier years covered in the print index.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, book reviews, books, and dissertations in sociology and related fields. Covers materials published 1952-present.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.

Catalyst Advanced Articles Search
Searches across more than 4,000 databases, digital archives, and publishers. Results will include items that are not available from the St. Olaf or Carleton libraries but can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Literature on all topics, drawn from a wide range of scholarly, news, popular, and professional sources. Indexes over 5000 titles, covering materials published 1971-present.

Cineaste
Independently published, Cineaste offers strong coverage of leftist film, documentary, and cinemas of the developing world.
Film Comment
Published by the Film Society of Lincoln Center, this magazine covers mainstream, independent, and avant-garde cinema from around the world.
Film International
Film International aims to situate film within transnational histories, cultures, and economies.
Film Quarterly
Published by the University of Calirfornia Press, Film Quarterly has a long history of offering scholarly articles alongside interviews, book review, feature stories, and intelligent criticism. Also available in print.
Positif
Positif is a French-language film journal that historically has published Marxist criticism of world cinemas.
Sight and Sound
Published by the British Film Institute, the magazine offers film reviews and articles on world cinema.