LibKey Nomad
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
Catalyst vs. Article Databases
You can search for articles in Catalyst or in research databases.
The pros for searching in Catalyst are that you already are familiar with the user interface and that Catalyst defaults to showing you material to which we have immediate access.
The pros for searching in research databases is that most databases are subject-specific, so your searches are automatically limited to a particular topic. Also, if you are interested in finding materials beyond what is at St. Olaf, the research databases can show you other articles we can acess through Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan).
Core Psychology Resources
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
-
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowPsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
Other Useful Databases
-
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional journal articles and other materials on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education. Covers materials published 1987-present.
-
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBiomedical journal articles. Includes work in all areas of medicine. Covers materials published 2000-present.
-
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of chemicals and drugs with over 11,000 monographs on single substances or groups of related compounds.
-
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, reports, and other materials on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other psychiatric disorders associated with trauma. Interdisciplinary and international. Covers materials published 1871-present.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal articles in the health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences. Covers materials published by Elsevier from 1995-present, with some coverage extending back to the 1850s.
Interdisciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
-
Google ScholarA free site for searching across scholarly literature. "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."
-
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
Professional Associations
-
American Psychological AssociationAPA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with 172,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants, and students as its members.
-
Association for Psychological ScienceThe Association for Psychological Science (previously the American Psychological Society) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of scientific psychology and its representation at the national and international level. The Association's mission is to promote, protect, and advance the interests of scientifically oriented psychology in research, application, teaching, and the improvement of human welfare.
-
Social Psychology NetworkWelcome to Social Psychology Network, one of the largest Internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching. In these pages, you'll find more than 17,000 links related to psychology.