Psychology Subject Guide

LibKey Nomad

Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 786-3501

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library Subject Guide for Psychology! It includes information and resources designed to aid you in general Psychology research.

For research questions:

Email me at schaez1@stolaf.edu or schedule a research consultation if you have any questions!

For writing help:

Make an appointment with the Writing Desk for assistance with organizing ideas and improving your writing style.

Core Psychology Resources

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.

For more recommendations, see the sections of this guide for Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Journal Articles, and Streaming Audiovisual Materials.

Databases and Indexes

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full-text review articles in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. Covers materials published 1932-present.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional journal articles and other materials on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education. Covers materials published 1987-present.
Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window
Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books; also includes relevant, evaluated Web sites and documents.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Discover research data, including data studies, data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation.
You can:
• Discover international repositories and their deposited data studies, data sets, using the Thomson Reuters value add indexing.
• Navigate between related records within a repository.
• Link to the repository record to access the deposited data.
• See how data connects to scientific literature published in journals, books and conference proceedings.
• Coverage of social sciences, physical sciences, life sciences and arts and humanities.
• Search the literature back to 1900.
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Biomedical journal articles. Includes work in all areas of medicine. Covers materials published 2000-present.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of chemicals and drugs with over 11,000 monographs on single substances or groups of related compounds.
Pharmaceutical Sciences Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
From drug discovery to development to manufacturing, Pharmaceutical Sciences Encyclopedia provides reliable information on every aspect of pharmaceutical development.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, reports, and other materials on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other psychiatric disorders associated with trauma. Interdisciplinary and international. Covers materials published 1871-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in the health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences. Covers materials published by Elsevier from 1995-present, with some coverage extending back to the 1850s.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.