LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Key Sources
The Qur'anRolvaag Ref: BP109 1987
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'anRolvaag Ref: BP133 .E53 2001
The New Encyclopedia of IslamRolvaag Ref: BP40 .G42 2008
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic WorldRolvaag Ref: DS35.53 .O96 2009
Databases
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book reviews, and conference papers on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Includes work in economics, education, archaeology, the natural and applied sciences, history (all periods), religion, philosophy, the arts, literature, and other areas. Covers materials published 1906-present. Earlier years covered in the print index.
- ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.
Basic Sources for Islam
GENERAL
The New Encyclopedia of Islam. [Reference: BP40 .G42 2008]
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World. 5v. [Reference: DS35.53 .O96 2009]
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World. 2v. [Reference: BP40 .E525 2004]
Oxford Dictionary of Islam. [BP40 .O95 2003] or online
Historical Dictionary of Sufism. [Reference: BP188.48 .R46 2005]
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture. 3v [N6260 .G75 2009]
WRITINGS
The Literature of Islam. [Reference: BP161.3 .S585 2006]
Encyclopedia of Canonical Hadith. [Reference: BP193.28 .J89 2007]
THE QUR'AN
The Qur'an. (trans. by M.A.S. Abdul Haleem) [Reference: BP109 2005]
The Qur'an. (trans. by Ahmed Ali) [Reference: BP109 1994]
The Qur'an. (trans. & commentary by Abdullah Yusef Ali) [Reference: BP109 1987]
QUR'ANIC DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS & COMMENTARIES
A Concordance of the Qur'an. [Reference: BP133 .K37 1983]
Arab-English Dictionary of Qur'anic Usage. [BP133 .B23 2008]
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an. 6v. [Reference: BP133 .E53 2001]
Tafsir Ibn Kathir. 10v. [Reference: BP130.4 .I2413 2003]
In the Shade of the Qur'an. 16v. [Reference: BP130.4 .Q73 2003]