LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Key Sources
Brill's Encyclopedia of HinduismRolvaag Ref: BL1105 .B75 2009
Encyclopedia of HinduismRolvaag Ref: B L1105 .E539 2008
Contemporary HinduismRolvaag Books: BL1202 .C65 2004
Encyclopedia of IndiaRolvaag Ref: DS405 .E556 2006
Databases
- ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and book chapters in Asian Studies. Primarily western-language materials in the humanities and social sciences, on East, South, and Southeast Asia. Covers materials published 1971-present, with some coverage extending back to the late nineteenth century.
Basic Sources for Hinduism
GENERAL
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism. 4v. [Reference: BL1105 .B75 2009]
Encyclopedia of Hinduism. [Reference: BL1105 .E539 2008]
Encyclopedia of Hinduism. 11v. [Stacks: BL1105 .E53 2010]
A Dictionary of Hinduism. online
The Hindu World. [Reference: BL1202 .H546 2004]
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend. online
Contemporary Hinduism. [BL1202 .C65 2004) or online
The Shambhala Encyclopedia of Yoga. [Reference: BL1238.52 .F47 1997]
Encyclopedia of India. 4v. [Reference: DS405 .E556 2006]
Blackwell Companion to Hinduism. [Stacks: BL1202 .B55 2003]
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion. [BL1005 .L4813 1989]
WRITINGS
To find Hindu sacred writings, use the following Subject searches in BRIDGE:
Hinduism -- Sacred books