LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Key Sources
The Princeton Dictionary of BuddhismRolvaag Ref: BQ130 .P75 2014
Encyclopedia of BuddhismRolvaag Ref: BQ128 ..E53 2007
An Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints and DemonsRolvaag Ref: BQ130 .B88 1994
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Zen BuddhismRolvaag Ref: BQ9259 .B37 2002
Databases
- ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and book chapters in Asian Studies. Primarily western-language materials in the humanities and social sciences, on East, South, and Southeast Asia. Covers materials published 1971-present, with some coverage extending back to the late nineteenth century.
Basic Sources for Buddhism
GENERAL
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism. [Reference: BQ130 .P75 2014]
The Encyclopedia of Buddhism. [Reference: BQ128 .E53 2007]
The Encyclopedia of Buddhism. 2v. [Reference: BQ128 .E62 2004]
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Zen Buddhism. [Reference: BQ9259 .B37 2002]
An Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints & Demons. 2v. [Reference: BQ130 .B88 1994]
A Dictionary of Buddhism. online
Critical Terms for the Study of Buddhism. online
Buddhism: Flammarion Iconographic Guides. [Reference: BQ5100 .L68 1995]
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion. [BL1005 .L4813 1989]
WRITINGS
To find Buddhist sacred writings, use the following Subject searches in Catalyst:
Buddhism -- Sacred books
Buddhist literature -- Translations into English