- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Religion Subject Guide
- Religions of China & Japan
Religion Subject Guide
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Key Sources
The Encylcopedia of ConfucianismRolvaag Ref: BL1840 .R68 2003
The Encyclopedia of TaoismRolvaag Ref: BL1920 .E539 2008
Nanzan Guide to Japanese ReligionsRolvaag Ref: BL2210.5 .N36 2006
Berkshire Encyclopedia of ChinaRolvaag Ref: DS735 .A2 B47 2009Bilingual Encyclopedia of Japan
Rolvaag Ref: DS805 .K6323 1998
Databases
- ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and book chapters in Asian Studies. Primarily western-language materials in the humanities and social sciences, on East, South, and Southeast Asia. Covers materials published 1971-present, with some coverage extending back to the late nineteenth century.
Basic Sources for the Religion of China & Japan
GENERAL
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion. [BL1005 .L4813 1989]
A Dictionary of Asian Mythology [BL1005 .L46 2001] or online
CHINA
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China. 4v. [Reference: DS735 .A2 B47 2009]
Brill's Encyclopedia of China. [Reference: DS755 .B86 2009]
Handbook of Chinese Mythology. [Reference: BL1825 .Y355 2005]
Routledge Curzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism. 2v. [Reference: BL1840 .R68 2003]
The Encyclopedia of Taoism. 2v. [Reference: BL1920 .E539 2008]
JAPAN
Japan Encyclopedia. [Reference: DS821 .L6813 2002]
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. 9v. [Reference: DS805 .K633]
Nanzan Guide to Japanese Religion. [Reference: BL2210.5 .N36 2006]
The A to Z of Shinto. [Reference: BL2216.1 .P53 2006]