Asian Studies Subject Guide

Full-text scholarly art encyclopedia covering artist biographies, works, traditions, media, techniques, and concepts in art history and theory. Includes a searchable collection of images.

Diverse digital image library covering architecture, decorative arts, design, painting, photography, and sculpture from many cultures.

Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker.

A wide range of videos on topics such as: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.

Broadcasts from Nippon News, Japan's only newsreel during World War II.

Full-length feature and short films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens.

Provides full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century.

The 60 MINUTES: 1997-2014 collection from Alexander Street Press grants unprecedented access to the CBS News archives from this period, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast. The collection delivers the highest caliber reporting from acclaimed journalists including Mike Wallace, Ed Bradley, Charlie Rose, Anderson Cooper, Lesley Stahl, Scott Pelley, Morley Safer, Lara Logan, Steve Kroft, Bob Simon, and others.

Full-text news coverage from over 150 countries, from state-owned, independent, and clandestine radio, television, press, internet, and news agency sources. Materials in languages other than English are translated. Covers materials published/broadcast 2006-present. An important feature is the ability to restrict content to a particular country -- material from the country; material about the country. Note: Before searching, users must click to agree to the site?s terms and conditions (bottom center of the main page). Although the search box is located directly under boxes requesting a username and password, St. Olaf users do not need to sign in here. An optional, free personal account does allow access to additional features (RSS feeds, site preferences, etc.).

Full-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.

Full-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.

Digitized version of The New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to present.

The Times of London archive includes every complete page of every issue--full-text searchable--every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

Contains articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world.

Broadcasts from Nippon News, Japan's only newsreel during World War II.

Full-text media reports from around the world, including news, interviews, speeches, editorial commentary and other materials. English-language, often in translation. Covers materials published 1941-1996.

News from around the world, translated into English. The information is obtained from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports.