Asian Studies Subject Guide

LibKey Nomad

Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies

Catalyst vs. Article Databases

You can search for articles in Catalyst or in research databases.

The pros for searching in Catalyst are that you already are familiar with the user interface and that Catalyst defaults to showing you material to which we have immediate access.

The pros for searching in research databases is that most databases are subject-specific, so your searches are automatically limited to a particular topic. Also, if you are interested in finding materials beyond what is at St. Olaf, the research databases can show you other articles we can acess through Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan).

Core Asian Studies Resources

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Scholarly articles and book chapters in Asian Studies. Primarily western-language materials in the humanities and social sciences, on East, South, and Southeast Asia. Covers materials published 1971-present, with some coverage extending back to the late nineteenth century.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.

Google Scholar
A free site for searching across scholarly literature. "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."

ProQuest Research Library
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.
Web of Science

A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.