Economics Subject Guide

LibKey Nomad

Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies

Catalyst vs. Article Databases

You can search for articles in Catalyst or in research databases.

The pros for searching in Catalyst are that you already are familiar with the user interface and that Catalyst defaults to showing you material to which we have immediate access.

The pros for searching in research databases is that most databases are subject-specific, so your searches are automatically limited to a particular topic. Also, if you are interested in finding materials beyond what is at St. Olaf, the research databases can show you other articles we can acess through Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan).

Core Economics Resources

EconLit
Scholarly journal articles, books, book reviews, and other materials in economics. Covers materials published 1969-present.
Business Source Premier
Journal articles, plus full-text country economic reports from the EIU, market research reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Provides some full-text access to journal articles. Covers materials published 1965-present, with some coverage extending back to 1922.
NBER Working Papers
The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.

Other Useful Resources

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A directory of over 10,000 peer-reviewed, open access journals. DOAJ provides free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals encompassing a multitude of languages and subject areas. Follow these links to access journals in Economics.
EconPapers
EconPapers provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software. Including a growing collection of 991,969 searchable working papers, articles and software items with 863,842 items available on-line.

PAIS Index
Journal articles, books, government and international agency documents, statistical directories, and other materials in public policy and public affairs. Covers materials published 1915-present.
Westlaw
Full-text business and law information. Business coverage includes articles from newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, plus company information and other materials. Law coverage includes encyclopedia articles, law reviews and journals, and primary sources (an annotated version of the US Code, federal and state court cases, and other materials).

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.

Google Scholar
A free site for searching across scholarly literature. "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."

ProQuest Research Library
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.
Web of Science

A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.