LibKey Nomad
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
Welcome!
Welcome to the Library Subject Guide for Economics! It includes information and resources designed to aid you in general Economics research.
For research questions:
- Email me at schaez1@stolaf.edu or schedule a research consultation if you have any questions!
For writing help:
- Make an appointment with the Writing Desk for assistance with organizing ideas and improving your writing style.
Core Economics Resources
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book reviews, and other materials in economics. Covers materials published 1969-present.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, plus full-text country economic reports from the EIU, market research reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Provides some full-text access to journal articles. Covers materials published 1965-present, with some coverage extending back to 1922.
- NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new windowThe National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
For more recommendations, see the sections of this guide for Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Journal Articles, and Streaming Audiovisual Materials.
Find Data & Statistics
- Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles and books in statistics, probability, and related fields. Covers materials published 1975-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowEconomic, political, geographic, and statistical data by country (throughout the world); maps; introductory essays on a wide range of regional issues; and lists of sources for further research. Also available in print.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowQuantitative data describing aspects of US history including population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Also includes full-text introductory essays that place the statistical data in context. Users can download tables in Excel or CSV format and create custom tables by merging columns from existing tables. Also available in print.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new windowICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new windowData sets in many subject areas, including crime and law enforcement, federal assistance, military deployment and deaths, economics, health, and demographics. Includes Data Planet Statistical Datasets, Data-Planet EASI Market Planner, and Data-Planet China Data Center.
- World Development Indicators Online This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank's World Development Indicators: statistical data about development in countries around the world. Covers data up to two years ago.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF) Statistics"A standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts."
Find Web Resources
- African Economic OutlookEconomic analysis on a country by country basis as well as a macroeconomic outlook.
- ALFRED: Archival Federal Reserve Economic DataHistorical economic data!
- BEA: International Economics AccountsFrom the Bureau of Economic Analysis, this site tracks international trade and investments.
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisFrom the U.S. Department of Commerce. Local, national, and international economic data.
- European Central Bank: StatisticsExplores monetary policy throughout Europe.
- The World Bank: DataA brilliantly interactive source for international economic data and analysis. Organized by country, topic, and indicator.
- TIGER: Tracking Indexes for the Global Economic RecoveryFrom the Brookings Institutions, an interactive map tracking performance indicators across groups of advanced economies.