- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Media Studies Subject Guide
- Journal literature
Media Studies Subject Guide
LibKey Nomad
Director of Research & Instructional Technology
Communication
- Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles and books on human communication. Covers materials published 1977-present.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book reviews, books, and dissertations in descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics, including work on phonetics, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Covers materials published 1973-present.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.
Art
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1984-present.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1929-1984.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs and reviews concerning modern and contemporary art (late nineteenth-century to current, in diverse media). Covers materials published 1974-present, with some coverage extending back to the late 1960s.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowMagazine and journal articles, news items, and reviews on design, crafts, and the applied arts from the mid-nineteenth century to current developments. Covers materials published 1973-present.
Business Databases
Business:
Journal articles, plus full-text country economic reports from the EIU, market research reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Provides some full-text access to journal articles. Covers materials published 1965-present, with some coverage extending back to 1922.
Business and management articles from US and international publications, including scholarly journals and trade magazines. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.
Please contact a reference librarian for the password.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal articles in the health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences. Covers materials published by Elsevier from 1995-present, with some coverage extending back to the 1850s.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
Communication Databases
- Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles and books on human communication. Covers materials published 1977-present.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book reviews, books, and dissertations in descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics, including work on phonetics, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Covers materials published 1973-present.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.
Film Databases
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly journals, popular and trade magazines, and newspapers, plus film reviews, images, and books. Provides full-text access to many sources. Covers materials published 1914-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on the performing arts. Covers materials published 1864-present.
Art Databases
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1984-present.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1929-1984.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs and reviews concerning modern and contemporary art (late nineteenth-century to current, in diverse media). Covers materials published 1974-present, with some coverage extending back to the late 1960s.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowMagazine and journal articles, news items, and reviews on design, crafts, and the applied arts from the mid-nineteenth century to current developments. Covers materials published 1973-present.
Political Science/Sociology Databases
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and books in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, book reviews, books, and dissertations in sociology and related fields. Covers materials published 1952-present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, government and international agency documents, statistical directories, and other materials in public policy and public affairs. Covers materials published 1915-present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar a free database of peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Most of what you find in GoogleScholar will be citations to useful articles or books. It is likely that some of these citations will link you to pages suggesting you can get "full-text" access to the article. You may find that if you click on the "full-text" link, you'll be denied access, prompted for a UserName and Password, or asked to submit a credit card number. When this happens, be sure to check the Bridge catalog for the journal in which the article appears! We may have it here in the library already. If not, we can try to get it for you through Interlibrary Loan, which is free.
Off-Campus Access
To access library resources (e.g.online indexes, databases, and e-journals) from off-campus please follow instructions below:
- Off Campus AccessWhen you access the resource, you will be prompted for your St. Olaf login and password (same as your St. Olaf e-mail account). Once you enter this information you will be able to access library resources as if you were on-campus.
What Is a Database?
A database allows you to search through a vast collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, as well as essays in books and conference papers. You may search by topic, author, or article title.
Some databases are "full-text" (i.e. provide the entire text of the article), some are "idexes" only, also called "bibliographic" (i.e. point you to the source of your article without providing its text), and some are a mix of the two.
What's a Peer-Reviewed Article?
A publication is considered to be peer reviewed if its articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author's peers (people who are experts in the same subject area.) Most (but not all) scholarly publications are peer reviewed.
Watch this tutorial from North Carolina State University Library to learn about peer-reviewed articles.
To check if your journal is peer-reviewed, go to Ulrichsweb.com. Ulrich's is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types. It specifically states if a journal is academic [under "document type"] and if it is peer-reviewed [under "Refereed"].