Political Science 220: Analyzing Politics

LibKey Nomad

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies

Pew Research Center
Use Pew Research Center's website for non-partisan information about a variety of topics. "We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
Roper Topics at a Glance
Public opinion survey data at Cornell.

voxgov
Repository of fully searchable current US government information gleaned from official websites, legislation, congressional and regulatory documents, social media, press releases, and more.

Google Advanced Search
Google has an Advanced Search function that's useful if you're trying to find sources from a specific type of organization. Use the site or domain box to look for different url types like .gov, .edu, .org, etc.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

St. Olaf A-Z Data/Statistics Databases
We have a number of databases that focus on datasets available for use. They cover a wide variety of areas!
Carleton Library Data Guides
Created primarily by Kristin Partlo, the Carleton data guides are a wonderful place to start to find sources of data on a variety of topics

Access World News
Full-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
Nexis Uni
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
U.S. Newsstream
Full-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.

St. Olaf A-Z News Databases
Take a look at all of the news media based databases you have access to through the St. Olaf Libraries!