- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Dance 231: Fundamentals of Choreography and Improvisation
- EBooks, ILL (Conducting Research from Home)
Dance 231: Fundamentals of Choreography and Improvisation
Research & Writing Tutors
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Finding eBooks in Catalyst
Alt text - Finding eBooks in Catalyst
Title Slide: Finding e-Books in Catalyst
[Image: St Olaf Libraries & IT Logo]
Slide 1: So you want to find and read e-books from the comfort of your own home… Good news: you can!
Follow along to learn how to access and use eBooks via Catalyst!
Slide 2: First, navigate to the St Olaf Libraries homepage.
-
Or Google search “St Olaf Libraries” and click the first link!
Slide 3: In the homepage, click the “Books” button to search for books, e-books and scores.
[Image: The St Olaf Libraries homepage features a large search bar. Above it are six tabs, which are, from left to right: Catalyst, Books, Articles, Audio/Video, Reserves, and Guides. In our particular example, we'll want to click the "Books" tab to only search for e-books, and then type in our search terms (the example used in this slideshow is "atonal music".]
Slide 4: When you get to the search results, use the left sidebar to filter results to just online resources.
[Image: When you search in Catalyst, you'll encounter a search result page with a left sidebar entitled, “Refine My Results.” Under the title is a number of categories, including a “Show Only” category, which contains two options: “Physical Resources” and “Online Resources”. To only see e-books, you'll want to click "Online Resources". The page will auto-reload when specifying this.]
Slide 5: (Note: Some results will list call numbers as well. This happens if they are available both as an e-book and as a physical item in the stacks.)
Slide 6: Now that you’re only looking at e-books, click on the item of your choice.
[Image: Our particular example is an e-book titled “The Structure of Atonal Music”, which is available via online access, from St Olaf’s music library, and Carleton’s library. You can click the title of this book to view the item record.]
Slide 7: Below the initial item information is the section labeled “Online Access”. Click the link provided to view the item!
[Image: Under the initial item information (title, author, publisher info, etc.) is a “Send to” section (print, email, etc.), followed by an “Online Access” section. Under the "Online Access" section name is text stating “Online Access at these sites:”, followed by links to databases and websites from which the e-book is viewable. This particular item is accessible via JSTOR. The name of the database (in this case, JSTOR) is hyperlinked.]
Slide 8: Login with your St. Olaf credentials!
Slide 9: You should now see the e-book. Click the chapter you want to read!
[Image: Note: Each online database looks a little different, but they should have some kind of table of contents list that you can use to navigate the e-book! This particular JSTOR example has initial book information (cover image, title, publisher information etc.), followed by an interactive Table of Contents section, which you can click to navigate the contents of the e-book. Depending on the database and item, you might also be able to download a chapter as a PDF!]
Slide 10: You’re all set! Happy reading!
Slide 11: Questions? Chat with a librarian at go.stolaf.edu/chat!
Resource Sharing
Alt Text -- Resource Sharing Slides
Slide 1: Resource Sharing for Book Chapters for Articles
[Image: St. Olaf Libraries and IT logo]
Slide 2: What is Resource Sharing?
Resource Sharing is a system where libraries agree to loan their materials to patrons from other libraries.
It used to be called "Interlibrary Loan" or "ILL," so you may hear your instructors use those terms.
Slide 3: What can you request via Resource Sharing?
- Physical materials (books, musical scores, etc., that St. Olaf doesn't have)
- Chapter scans (if you just want a single chapter from a book St. Olaf doesn't have)
- Journal article scans (if you need an article from a journal St. Olaf doesn't subscribe to)
Slide 4: Requesting materials found in a database
Often you discover materials St. Olaf does not have while searching in a database, like Academic Search Premier.
Sometimes, you'll be able to access a PDF of the article directly from the database. Other times, the database knows the article exists, but doesn't offer direct access. In that case, click the "Find It!" button.
[Image: screenshot of a record for an article in Academic Search Premier. An arrow points to the "Find It-Check Catalyst for full text!" button at the bottom of the record.]
Slide 5: Requesting materials found in a database
The "Find It!" button asks Catalyst if St. Olaf has access to the article somewhere other than the database you're in,
If you click the "Find It!" button, one of three things will happen.
Best case scenario: the "Find It!" button identifies the article and routes you to it directly.
Slide 6: Requesting materials found in a database
Second best case scenario: Sometimes the "Find It!" button can't match the article title, but it can match the journal title. You'll be routed to a Catalyst record for the article.
[Image: screenshot of an article record in Catalyst. The article is available in both physical format and online. Red arrows point to the call number for the physical journal and the online link for the online version. In this case, the online version is on the publisher's website.]
To access this particular article, you could either look for the physical print journal in the library or try to locate it on the publisher's website. Note that publishers' websites sometimes place recent articles behind paywalls. If that is the case, go back to the print version or ask a librarian for help.
Slide 7: Requesting materials found in a database
Third best case scenario: If the "Find It!" button can't march the article, you'll see a Catalyst record like this. This situation is where Resource Sharing comes in.
Click the "sign in" button and log in with your St. Olaf credentials.
[Image: screenshot of a Catalyst record for an article St. Olaf doesn't have. A message bar says "check for physical copies or request a copy;" this means that St. Olaf does not have electronic access to the article. A red arrow points to the "Sign in" link, which is further down in the record.]
Slide 8: Requesting materials found in a database
Once you're signed in, the record will display options for requesting the article, along with an estimate of how long it will take to process your request.
In this example, you could request a scan that should arrive in 24 hours. Just click the "Get It!" button.
[Image: screenshot of a Catalyst record showing options to get the article from another library. There is an icon of an envelope with the message "Get a digital copy delivered in 24 hours by email. Underneath this is a button that says, "Get it."]
Slide 9: Requesting materials found in a database
[Image: screenshot of the Catalyst form for requesting a digitized article. The form includes a space for your email address, any notes or comments you might have, a copyright disclaimer, and a "send" button.]
Fill out the form that comes up.
Make sure your email address is correct!
99.9% of the time you will not need to make a note. For example, you might indicate if the article is in language other than English.
Tick the box saying you are obeying copyright law and click "Send!"
You'll get an email with a link to download the scan when it is ready.
Slide 10: Requesting materials found outside a database
What if you found out about a resource somewhere other than a database? For example, maybe you found a useful citation in the bibliography of another resource.
Here I'm looking for a book called Duke Ellington: Legendary Composer and Bandleader, but Catalyst can't find it because we don't have it.
[Image: screenshot of a Catalyst book search for the Ellington book; the result list says "no records found."]
Slide 11: Requesting materials found outside the database
If this happens, click the link to "expand your search beyond the St. Olaf and Carleton libraries."
[Image: screenshot of the failed Catalyst search for the Ellington book. A red arrow points to the linked to "expand your search beyond the St. Olaf and Carleton libraries." This link comes before the note that no records were found.]
Slide 12: Requesting materials found outside the database
Once you've expanded your search, the book should appear in the results list, with a note indicating you'll need to request a copy. Click the book title to open the record and start the request process.
[Image: screenshot of the Ellington book in the expanded results list. There is a gold-colored message telling you to "check for physical copies or request a copy." You will need to request the copy, since you already know St. Olaf doesn't have this book.]
Slide 13: Requesting materials found outside the database
Once in the Catalyst record, if you're not already signed in, you may need to click the "sign in" button and enter your St. Olaf credentials.
[Image: screenshot of the sign in button in a Catalyst record.]
Slide 14: Requesting materials found outside the database
Once you're signed in, you can choose how to request the item. Since this example is for an entire printed book, you could either ask for the whole book to be sent (which could take days), or, if you know you only need a single chapter, you could request a scan of that chapter. Click the "Get it" button under the option you want to use.
[Image: screenshot of two Catalyst request options. One is "Get a physical copy" and the other is "Need a chapter?" which is for requesting chapter scans. Buttons marked "get it" are under each option.]
Slide 15: Requesting materials found outside the database
Fill out the form that appears.
This is the form to request a book chapter scan. It's a little more detailed than the whole book request form, because the librarians need to know which chapter or pages you want.
Once the form is filled in, click "Send!"
You'll get an email when your scan is ready to download or when your book is ready to pick up.
[Image: screenshot of the form to request a book chapter can. It includes lines for your email address for information like the chapter title, author, and page numbers.]