Education 375: Exceptional Learners

Research & Writing Tutors

Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 786-3501

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies, Sociology/Anthropology

Online Encyclopedia Collections

The library subscribes to these online reference databases that can help you research the background of your topic. Start here!

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Background Information to Start Your Research
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Search across all of Oxford's reference books - over 2 million entries.

Online Reference Books

Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education
Publication Date: 2004
This is a comprehensive resource for those working in the fields of special education research and practice. Featuring reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, dozens of biographies, and more, this complete desk reference is an indispensable guide for professionals, academics, and students alike.
Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of Children, Adolescents, and Adults with Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individuals
Publication Date: 2007
This highly recommended resource provides background information on thousands of topics related to special education. Entries are organized alphabetically and written by experts in the field. Search within this resource to define unfamiliar terms or browse it for new ideas.

Print Reference Books

If you are on campus and the libraries are open, feel free to browse these books in the Rolvaag Reference Room.

The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
Call Number: Reference Room LB15 .G68 2011
"Defines more than 3,500 terms germane to education and related fields such as law, psychology, and neuroscience. Many of the terms new to the second edition relate to online learning and the use of technology in education as well as social phenomena such as the 'helicopter parent.'" -- Choice Reviews
Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: (Rolvaag Reference Room) LB15 .E47 2003
This multi-volume reference work has entries on nearly every topic related to the field of education.
Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of Children, Adolescents, and Adults Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individuals
Call Number: Reference Room LC4007 .E53 2007
"Comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs. All articles are cross-referenced, and citations guiding you to related sources appear at the end of each entry."
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Call Number: Reference Room LB1050.9 .E63 2008
"This two-volume reference work is meant as an introduction to educational psychology for a general audience. It includes more than 200 entries written by over 300 contributors on a variety of topics related to the field." -- Choice Reviews
21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook
Call Number: Reference Room LA210 .A15 2008
"100 chapters written by leading experts in the field that highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today."