- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- FYS 120F: The Language of Local Activism
- Find Background Info
FYS 120F: The Language of Local Activism
LibKey Nomad
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
What is an encyclopedia?
Encyclopedias contain unbiased background information about a variety of topics. It can be helpful to read an encyclopedia entry on your topic before you start looking for articles, books, or other sources.
Here are some examples of subject-specific encyclopedias:
Print reference sources
Education and sociology : an encyclopediaCall Number: LC189.95 .E38 2002 (Rolvaag)This encyclopedia covers topics ranging from adolescence and schools to educational assessment, working parents, and race and gender inequality. Over 90 contributors offer a variety of perspectives, highlighting key topics like affirmative education, Catholic schools, the economics of education, globalization, home schooling, and teacher burnout.
Encyclopedia of activism and social justiceCall Number: HM671 .E53 2007 (Rolvaag)This encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of LGBT Politics and PolicyCall Number: HQ73.7 .O74 2021 (Carleton)ISBN: 9780190677923This encyclopedia reviews and interprets a broad array of social science and humanities research on LGBT people, politics, and public policy around the world. The articles are organized around six major themes of the study of identity politics, with a focus on movement politics, public attitudes, political institutions, elections, and the broader context of political theory.
Online reference sources
Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and VoicesPublication Date: 2015The term "culture wars" refers to the political and sociological polarization that has characterized American society the past several decades. This new edition provides an enlightening and comprehensive A-to-Z ready reference, now with supporting primary documents, on major topics of contemporary importance for students, teachers, and the general reader.
Encyclopedia of American StudiesPublication Date: 2021A comprehensive source of reference that brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.
Encyclopedia of North American ImmigrationPublication Date: 2016Encyclopedia of North American Immigration, Revised Edition is a comprehensive encyclopedia consisting of hundreds of A-to-Z entries on events, themes, people, places, and legislation related to immigration.
Encyclopedia of Race and RacismPublication Date: 2013Provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism.
Sage Encyclopedia of Psychology and GenderPublication Date: 2017This encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level.
Online Reference Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowFull-text reports on current issues including health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes background information, overviews, pros and cons, and sources for further research. Covers materials published 1991-present.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Openly Editable Encyclopedia
- Wikipedia"The free encyclopedia that anyone can edit."
Tips for Wise Wikipedia Use
- Be aware that anyone can edit entries in Wikipedia.
- Consider it as a starting point for research; get to know your topic and identify important keywords.
- Look for references to reliable, published sources (in the References or Bibliography sections).
- Pay attention to the alert boxes and symbols. "Featured Articles" have a star to indicate their high quality; articles that are in need of updating (e.g. citation needed, newly available information, relies too much on primary sources) will be marked at the top of the page.