Nursing Subject Guide

Need a Boost?

LibKey Nomad

Librarian

Audrey Gunn

Email Me

Contact:

304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

507-786-3658

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics

Welcome!

This guide includes information and resources designed to aid you with research in the field of nursing. Explore the tabs on the left or look below for information on finding books and articles, choosing which databases to search, and more. For further assistance with your research, please reach out to your librarian using the contact information in the left-hand column -- we're here to help!

Clinical Support Tools

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex provides clinical information such as drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information, plus comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource, trusted worldwide by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care. Note: The first time you access UpToDate you may be prompted to register for an UpToDate account. You are not required to do this and can click "Continue with your search" to access UpToDate without registering.

Key Databases for Nursing and Healthcare Literature

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and professional journals, books, dissertations, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and other materials in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and related disciplines. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1937-present.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Supporting students, instructors, researchers, and healthcare professionals, ProQuest's Nursing & Allied Health Premium offers over 700 scholarly journals, 350+ training videos, and provides a unique immersive user experience.
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Biomedical journal articles. Includes work in all areas of medicine. Covers materials published 2000-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, online books, and other materials in biomedical fields, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1950-present, with some coverage extending earlier.

Other Recommended Databases

PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, reports, and other materials on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other psychiatric disorders associated with trauma. Interdisciplinary and international. Covers materials published 1871-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in the health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences. Covers materials published by Elsevier from 1995-present, with some coverage extending back to the 1850s.
Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional journal articles, popular and trade magazine articles, and other materials on biomechanics, coaching, dance, facilities, health, kinesiology, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, and sports medicine and psychology. Covers materials published 1970-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.

Databases for Pharmacology, Toxicology, and Dietary Supplements

Dietary Supplement Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) is a joint project of the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.

Pharmaceutical Sciences Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
From drug discovery to development to manufacturing, Pharmaceutical Sciences Encyclopedia provides reliable information on every aspect of pharmaceutical development.

PubMed Dietary Supplements Subset
This subset is designed to limit search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.

TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, web sites, and other materials in toxicology, including work on chemicals, pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, mutagens, and teratogens. Covers materials published 2000-present.