Open Educational Resources

LibKey Nomad

Librarian

Per the Puffin

they/them

Contact:

302 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

Browse Recent Publications

OER Digest
The OER Digest is a newsletter sharing "open education updates, opportunities, and reminders. The Digest is a joint project of Creative Commons USA, SPARC, and the Student PIRGs, and was founded in 2015."
International Journal of Open Educational Resources
"The aim of IJOER is to provide a venue for the publication of quality academic research with an emphasis on representing Open Educational Resources in teaching, learning, scholarship and policy."
International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning
IRRODL "targets both researchers and practitioners of open and distance education systems. It aims to improve the quality of basic and applied research while also addressing the need for the translation of this knowledge into policies and activities that improve educational opportunity for students and teachers."
Journal of Open Educational Resources in Higher Education
"The Journal of Open Educational Resources in Higher Education (JOERHE)... features content concerned with OER, Open Pedagogy, Open Access, Open Data, and similar topics focusing specifically within the context of Higher Education in the United States and Canada."
Open Praxis
"Open Praxis is a peer-reviewed open access scholarly journal focusing on research and innovation in open, distance, and flexible education."

Find Published Research

In addition to the databases listed below, consider searching for information on OER in databases specific to your discipline.

Education Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ERIC, the leading index for education research, as well as the full-text Education Database. Together, they provide coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including full text from hundreds of leading education journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and provides a simple interface for accessing full-text content, tracking citations, and citing sources.
Library & Information Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Index and full-text collection covering library and information science. Includes Library & Information Science Abstracts (1969 - current), and Library Science Database‎ (1970 - current).
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional journal articles, magazine articles, books, reports, and other materials in library and information science, including work on classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, information management, and online information retrieval. Covers materials published approximately 1960-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.

News Databases and Websites

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Premium access to The Chronicle of Higher Education, including news, analysis, and data for college and university faculty and staff.

Inside Higher Ed
News and views about higher education. Requires a free account to read more than 5 articles per month.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Academic site license access to New York Times Online.
Note: You will need to register the first time you access this site. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button).
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.