PACON 181: Contemporary Controversies

LibKey Nomad

Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 786-3501

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies

Library Databases

Use these databases to look up information regarding Immigration, Policing and Police Reform, Health Care Reform, and Economic Inequality. CQ Researcher and PolicyFile will be particularly helpful.

Policing and Police Reform groups: search "police under scrutiny" in CQ Researcher to get to the most recent report on the topic.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports on current issues including health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes background information, overviews, pros and cons, and sources for further research. Covers materials published 1991-present.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
PolicyFile indexes, abstracts, and links directly to current research on virtually every public policy issue, with international coverage from many organizations around the world, as well as in-depth coverage of U.S. domestic policy organizations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Index and full text databases covering sociology and social services. Includes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)‎ (1987 - current), Sociological Abstracts‎ (1952 - current), and Sociology Database‎ (1985 - current).

St. Olaf Libraries Databases

A-Z List of Databases
Click "Filter by Subject" to find databases relevant to your topic.
A-Z Databases - News Databases
Check this list if you want to see St. Olaf's news database offerings.

Popular Opinion

Pew Research Center
Use Pew Research Center's website for non-partisan information about a variety of topics, including Immigration, Policing and Police Reform, Health Care Reform, and Economic Inequality.