LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Patent-Specific Databases
- Google PatentsPresently the most user-friendly searching interface for patent searches. A very good resource. May not always have the most recently-updated information, but is a fantastic place to start.
- Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new windowValue-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Includes patent coverage to 1963; citations to 1973; Chemical Section (1963-present); Electrical and Electronic Section (1963-present);Engineering Section (1963-present).
Government Patent Databases
- US Patent & Trademark Office - Patent SearchingCovers US patents issued from 1790 to the most recent weekly issue date. See the USPTO website for important notices concerning the database.
- PatentsView (USPTO)PatentsView allows users explore technological, regional, and individual-level patent trends via search filters with multiple options for data visualization. The database links inventors, their organizations, locations, and overall patenting activity using enhanced 1976-2014 data from public USPTO bulk data files.
- European Patent Office (Espacenet database)Search for European, US, PCT, Japanese and other worldwide patents.
- CIPO - Canadian Patents DatabaseA Canadian Patent database with data from 1989 to the present, and includes the patent number, classification, and title of patents.
- Japan Platform for Patent InformationA searchable database of Japanese patent abstracts, which includes the patent number, title, inventor, company, and abstract of the patent.
Additional Databases Including Patents
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowFull-text business and law information. Business coverage includes articles from newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, plus company information and other materials. Law coverage includes encyclopedia articles, law reviews and journals, and primary sources (an annotated version of the US Code, federal and state court cases, and other materials).
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, online books, and other materials in biomedical fields, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1950-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowThe new, updated version of SciFinder Scholar. Journal articles, patents, government research reports, and other materials in all areas of pure and applied chemistry, including biochemistry, medicinal chemistry, and chemical engineering. Links to some full text.
FIRST TIME USERS must register to search this database here.