Political Science 264: Latin American Politics
LibKey Nomad
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
Reference Works
Routledge Handbook of Latin American Politics by Routledge, 2012
The Oxford Handbook of Latin American Political Economy by Oxford University Press, 2012
Online Access
Routledge Handbook of Latin America in the World by Routledge International Handbooks, 2015
Routledge Handbook of Latin American Development by Routledge International Handbooks, 2018
Handbook of Social Movements Across Latin America by Handbooks of Sociology & Social Research, 2015
Online Access
Searching for Books and Media in Catalyst
Getting Started
The Advanced Search interface in Catalyst gives you many more options for creating a precise search. You can limit your results to a particular material type (book, CD, DVD, etc.), language, or range of publication years.
Search Tips
Use a keyword (also known as "All Fields") search if you aren't looking for a specific book, or if you wish to combine multiple ideas.
- refugees and policy
Use an asterisk (*) to search for various endings of a word.
- migra* will find migrant, migrants, migrate, migration, migratory, etc.
Use "quotation marks" around words that you want to keep together as a phrase.
- "human rights" and "case studies" and "South Africa"
Subject Headings
Skim the list of search results. Once you find a book that seems relevant to your topic, click on its title. You'll see the catalog record that lists information about the book, including subject headings. Every book in Catalyst is assigned subject headings. They will look like this:
- International law.
- Torture -- Chile -- Case studies.
- Rwanda -- History -- Civil War, 1994 -- Atrocities.
Tables of Contents
Many of the books in Catalyst will display the Table of Contents in the "Details" area. That can be extremely helpful when trying to figure out if a book will be relevant to your topic. For example, a book about the recent history of Rwanda may have entire sections devoted to human rights violations even if those words aren't included in the title or the subject headings.