Sociology and Anthropology 264: Race and Class in American Culture
LibKey Nomad
Resource Sharing Librarian
Find Primary Sources
Below are some primary source databases that may help you, depending on the focus of your research. Note each database's content focus.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources illuminating African American history and culture. Includes scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
- Native American Archives This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials on Native American history, including photos, census documents, and treaties.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowFull-text diaries and letters written by North American women, 1675-1950. Users can browse by year, historical event, location, or life experience in addition to searching. Also includes brief biographies of the authors.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowContains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out is included.
- Women's Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowWomen's Magazine Archive offers consumer magazines aimed at a female readership. Recognized as primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources in US women's history, 1600-2000. Includes primary documents in many genres, images, a biographical dictionary, a dictionary of social movements/organizations, a timeline, and teaching resources.
Minnesota Newspapers
- Northfield NewsNorthfield's local newspaper, "Northfield News" deals with local issues including news from Carleton and St. Olaf. The paper is archived here on a two day delay beginning in 2002, but some print articles may not be available.
- Star TribuneThe Star Tribune is the newspaper of the Twin Cities and surrounding areas and the largest newspaper in Minnesota. Articles can be searched by date or title and are available beginning in 1986 up to the present with a three-day delay.
- St. Paul Pioneer PressThe St. Paul Pioneer press is the rival paper of the Star Tribune and serves the Twin Cities and surrounding counties reaching east into Wisconsin. It is available from 1986-present
- Historical Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune This link opens in a new windowStudy the progression of events over time by browsing full-text, full-image issues of The Minneapolis Star Tribune, which offers coverage from 1867-2001 including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
U.S. Newspapers, Public Records, Data, & Ephemera
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
Minnesota Resources
- Census DataPopulation, housing, economic, and geographic data.
- Minneapolis CollectionAt Hennepin County Libraries, the Minneapolis Collection contains photographs, oral histories, business directories, and other types of materials ideal for social history research.
- Minnesota Historical Society Oral HistoriesImmigrant Oral Histories presents a collection of over 360 oral history interviews conducted between 1967 and 2012 with recent immigrants to Minnesota and their American-born children, including both streaming audio and written transcripts accessible online in digital formats.
- Minnesota ReflectionsContains more than 135,000 images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations.
- Minnesota Report Card"This tool is designed to provide parents, educators, schools, districts and citizens with easy access to district and school information, test results, demographic information and other critical data in a centralized location."
- Minnesota Secretary of State Election ResultsLook through Minnesota election results from 1992-present from the state as a whole down to the precinct level.
- MN State Demographic CenterData from the U.S. Census, state agencies, and more.