Social Work & Family Studies Subject Guide

LibKey Nomad

Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 786-3501

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library Subject Guide for Social Work & Family Studies! It includes information and resources designed to aid you in general Social Work & Family Studies research.

For research questions:

Email me at schaez1@stolaf.edu or schedule a research consultation if you have any questions!

For writing help:

Make an appointment with the Writing Desk for assistance with organizing ideas and improving your writing style.

Core Social Work & Family Studies Resources

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this comprehensive collection offers extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. This database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews in social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, community development, and related areas. Covers materials published 1979-present.

For more recommendations, see the sections of this guide for Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Journal Articles, and Streaming Audiovisual Materials.

Reference Resources for Social Work

The Encyclopedia of Social Work
e-book
Also available in print: Rolvaag Reference Room HV35 .S6 2008
Social Workers' Desk Reference
e-book

Reference Resources for Family Studies

Key Concepts in Family Studies
Publication Date: 2011
e-book
"Provides individual entries that introduce, explain and contextualize the key topics within the study of the family."
Encyclopedia of Family Studies
Publication Date: 2016
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary collection of the key concepts, trends, and processes relating to the study of families and family patterns throughout the world. Offers more than 550 entries arranged A-Z. Features entries that approach families, households, and kin networks from a macro-level and micro-level perspective.