- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Writing 120B: A Good Place
- Find Sources for Essay 4
Writing 120B: A Good Place
LibKey Nomad
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
Other St. Olaf Databases
- A-Z List of DatabasesClick "Filter by Subject" to find databases relevant to your topic.
Some Useful Open Web Resources
Try googling the community you're interested in researching and look for an official website, a social media page, etc. from the community itself. Alternatively, check if the community has a Wikipedia page and check out some of the citations at the bottom of the page. Also look at websites for intentional community interest groups or collections of articles about utopias (like those listed below).
- Foundation for Intentional CommunityA "resource hub for the intentional communities movement."
- Atlas Obscura - UtopiasA list of articles centered around utopias.
- Internet Archive"The Internet Archive ... is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public."
Catalyst Info
- Catalyst's Journal Browse SearchSearch here if you want to check St. Olaf's coverage of a specific periodical. If you're looking for a list of all newspapers or magazines that St. Olaf has access to, click on General on the left, and then Newspapers or Periodicals.
- Catalyst Advanced Books SearchSearch Catalyst, the shared catalog of the St. Olaf and Carleton Libraries, to find books.
Suggested Databases for Scholarly Sources
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches scholarly literature and provides a simple interface for accessing full-text content, tracking citations, and citing sources.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews in philosophy. Covers materials published 1940-present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
- Sociology Collection This link opens in a new windowIndex and full text databases covering sociology and social services. Includes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) (1987 - current), Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current), and Sociology Database (1985 - current).
Suggested News Sources
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus special reports, books, newsletters, and other materials in the areas of gender studies, women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer studies. Interdisciplinary and international. Covers materials published 1970-present.
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license access to New York Times Online.
Note: You will need to register the first time you access this site. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button). - Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license to the Wall Street Journal Online. Note: You will need to set up an account on the WSJ website because an individual site account is required to finish the registration.