Writing 120I: Being Good Ancestors

LibKey Nomad

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

507-786-3658

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Molecular Discovery, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics and Data Science

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help you find, evaluate, and cite sources for your research in Writing 120: Being Good Ancestors. For further assistance, you can schedule a research consultation with Audrey or email her at gunn4@stolaf.edu.

Search Catalyst for books, articles, and more!

Discipline-Specific Databases

These databases are great places to search for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. Keep in mind that these databases also contain popular sources, like magazine and newspaper articles, so make sure to evaluate each article you find to determine whether it's been peer reviewed. If you're not sure about a particular article, contact your librarian for help!

GreenFILE
Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, pamphlets, reports (industry, government, and nonprofit), and other materials on environmental issues.
SciTech Premium Collection
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
Social Science Premium Collection
The Social Science Premium Collection from ProQuest includes international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. This collection contains databases such as the Sociology Database, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, Political Science Database, PAIS Index, PolicyFile, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Criminal Justice Database, Library Science Database, LISA, Education Database, ERIC and Linguistics Database.
GeoRef
Scholarly journal articles, books, maps, reports, and conference papers in the geosciences, including all publications of the US Geological Survey. Covers materials published 1669-present on the geology of North America, 1933-present on the geology of the rest of the world.
Zoological Record
The world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.

General / Interdisciplinary Databases: Find Popular and Scholarly Articles!

If you're exploring research topic ideas, these databases are a great place to start. Try looking at newspaper and magazine articles or encyclopedia entries to get a general sense of the information available on your potential topic and identify aspects of the topic that you'd like to pursue further in your paper.

Academic Search Premier
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
MasterFILE Complete
Offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
ProQuest Research Library
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.

All Databases

A-Z List of St. Olaf Libraries Databases
Search Library databases for free access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, streaming video, and more. Click the "All Subjects" dropdown menu near the top of the page to identify discipline-specific databases.