- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Norwegian Immigrants -- Finding Family Members in the US
- Biographical Reference Books
Norwegian Immigrants -- Finding Family Members in the US
Biographical Dictionaries - General
Norwegian immigrants to the United States : a biographical directory, 1825-1850 by Call Number: E184.S24 N34 1993Publication Date: 1993Arranged in order of arrival, ship by ship. For each immigrant, provides full name, full names of both parents, full date and place of birth, occupation, place of settlement in America, date of death and place of burial. The form of name as found in the passenger list is indicated in brackets.
Norwegians in America, Their History and Record by Call Number: E184.S24 U313 2010ISBN: 9780976054160Publication Date: 2010-01-01A comprehensive history and biographical dictionary of Norwegian Americans.
Biographical Dictionaries - Educators
American educators of Norwegian origin : a biographical dictionary by
Call Number: LA2311 .H57 1931Publication Date: 1931Entries about men and women teachers include biographical information and place of origin in Norway, as well as bibliographies by and about the individual where relevant.School calendar, 1824-1924 : a who's who among teachers in the Norwegian Lutheran synods of America by
Call Number: LC574 .S3Publication Date: 1924A biographical dictionary with portraits of teachers, including women, in Norwegian Lutheran schools in the United States.
Biographical Dictionaries - Pastors
Who's who among pastors in all the Norwegian Lutheran synods of America, 1843-1927, 3rd edition. by Call Number: BX8050 .N87 1928Publication Date: 1928A biographical dictionary of Norwegian American clergy with portraits. Other biographical directories include:A biographical directory of pastors of The American Lutheran Church by
Call Number: BX8062 .J4 1962Publication Date: 1962- A Biographical directory of clergymen of The American Lutheran Church byCall Number: BX8062 .B5 1972Publication Date: 1972
Biographical directory of clergy : Evangelical Lutheran Church in America by Call Number: BX8048.3 .B56 1988Publication Date: 1988Roster of congregations by state, then postal address; directory of clergy, etc.Norsk lutherske menigheter i Amerika, 1843-1916 by
Call Number: BX8050 .N84 1918Publication Date: 1918A listing of all congregations in America founded by Norwegian Americans. Arranged by state, with indexes by postal address and name of congregation.
Biographical Dictionaries - Women
Souvenir "Norse-American women", 1825-1925 : a symposium of prose and poetry, newspaper articles, and biographies, contributed by one hundred prominent women by Call Number: E184.S24 G9 1926Publication Date: 1926Includes short biographies of prominent Norwegian American women.