- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Asian Studies Subject Guide
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Asian Studies Subject Guide
LibKey Nomad
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Use these reference sources to find biographical information as well as introductions and overviews to Asian Studies topics. You can find many more Asian Studies reference books by searching in Catalyst using keywords for your general subject AND the phrase (dictionary OR encyclopedia).
Country Information
- The Europa World Year Book 2016Call Number: Reference JN1 .E85
- Political Handbook of the WorldCall Number: Reference JF37.P6 2015
Asia
Encyclopedia of Modern AsiaCall Number: Reference DS4 .E53 2002
China
Brill's Encyclopedia of ChinaCall Number: Reference DS755 .B86 2009
Berkshire Encyclopedia of ChinaCall Number: Reference DS735.A2 B47 2009
Encyclopedia of Modern ChinaCall Number: Reference DS755 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese CultureCall Number: Reference DS779.23 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Mongolia and the Mongol EmpirePublication Date: Reference DS798.4 .A88 2004
Japan
- Kodansha Encyclopedia of JapanPublication Date: Reference DS805 .K633
- Bilingual Encyclopedia of JapanCall Number: Reference DS805 .K6323 1998
Japan EncyclopediaCall Number: Reference DS821 .L6813 2002
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese CultureCall Number: Reference DS822.5 .E516 2002
Korea
Korea: A Historical and Cultural DictionaryCall Number: Reference DS902 .P737 1999
Environment, Food and Marriage
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, vol. 7Call Number: Reference GE140 .B47 2010
Food Culture in ChinaCall Number: TX724.5.C5 N45 2004
Food Culture in JapanCall Number: TX724.5.J3 A88 2003
Food Culture in Southeast AsiaCall Number: TX724.5.S68 V36 2008
Marriage Customs of the WorldCall Number: Reference GT2690 .M65 2004
Religion
The Princeton Dictionary of BuddhismCall Number: Reference BQ130 .P75 2014
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Zen BuddhismCall Number: Reference BQ9259 .B37 2002
A Dictionary of Asian ChristianityCall Number: Reference BR1065 .D52 2001
Art, Film and Theatre
- Biographical Dictionary of Japanese ArtCall Number: Reference N7350 .B448
The Anime EncyclopediaCall Number: Reference NC1766.J3 C53 2006
Historical Dictionary of Japanese CinemaCall Number: Reference PN1993.5.J3 S45 2011
Encyclopedia of Asian TheatreCall Number: Reference PN2860 .E53 2007
Language and Literature
The Columbia Companion to Modern East Asian LiteratureCall Number: PL493 .C55 2003
Encyclopedia of Language and LinguisticsCall Number: Reference P29 .E48 2006
