- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Music 295: String Literature and Pedagogy
- Research and Newspaper Databases
Music 295: String Literature and Pedagogy
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Catalyst vs. Research Databases
You can certainly use the article filters in Catalyst to look for articles. However, Catalyst defaults only to showing you materials St. Olaf College can immediately access. If you are looking for less common materials, of if you are having trouble getting results in Catalyst, or if you want to make sure you are casting the widest possible net to find sources, start in the Research Databases instead! They'll show you many more sources that you can still access via Resource Sharing.
Music Databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowOverlaps with MPD, but does a better job of indexing books and individual chapters within collections of essays.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowOverlaps some with RILM, but with a stronger emphasis on journals and magazines.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowBetter coverage of contemporary popular music than RILM or MPD; focuses on materials published since 1970. Good for concert and recording reviews.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines.
Newspaper Databases
Newspaper databases are another good place to look for concert reviews, articles about performers, or even their obituaries.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigitized newspapers published in the United States between 1690 and 2000.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text from The Atlanta Constitution (1896-1945), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
- Times Digital Archive: 1785-2007 This link opens in a new windowThe Times of London archive includes every complete page of every issue--full-text searchable--every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
St. Olaf College Libraries offers you free access to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. If you haven't set up accounts with these newspapers before, check out this LibGuide for instructions.
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license access to New York Times Online.
Note: You will need to register the first time you access this site. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button). - Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license to the Wall Street Journal Online. Note: You will need to set up an account on the WSJ website because an individual site account is required to finish the registration.