- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- MUSPF 152 I, 252 I: Music Performance Studies - Voice
- Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
MUSPF 152 I, 252 I: Music Performance Studies - Voice
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Free databases - just login with your St Olaf username and ID
- IPA Source This link opens in a new windowInternational Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias, art songs, and Latin sacred texts.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowAlso known as Grove Music Online; full-text collection of reference works on music across genres and eras.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedia covering music around the world and throughout history. Includes regional overviews, information on musical genres and practices, and images (photographs, drawings, maps, and musical examples).
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference resource on African American music, covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other genres. Includes biographies, chronologies, lyrics, sheet music, liner notes, images, and discographies.
- Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference resource on all genres of classical music, medieval to contemporary. Includes dictionaries, encyclopedia articles, biographies, histories, and other materials.
- Orchestral Music Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference work on orchestral music. Users can search by composer, title, keyword, duration, instrumentation, chorus type, or soloist.
- Musical Theater Songs This link opens in a new windowMusicalTheaterSongs.com’s interface lets you enter up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, range, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, etc.) to generate a list of songs tailored to your needs from an ever-growing database of songs.
FYI
We also have an extensive collection of reference materials in print at the music library, in the reference area! Walk in, turn right, and head towards the copier. The stacks to the left of the copier are all reference materials!
You can't check out a reference book, but you can use it in the reference area as much as you'd like! Once you're done, bring it to the circ desk so that the student can reshelve the book!