Religion 121C: Belonging as Blessing and Challenge

Need a Boost?

LibKey Nomad

Research Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag 303

507.786.3793

Subjects: American Studies, Business and Management Studies, Classics, French, German, Greek, History, Latin, Linguistic Studies, Middle East Studies, Norwegian, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Spanish

The Essentials

How do I use these essential sources?

Use these dictionaries and encyclopedias to establish the context of the passage you have chosen. The Anchor Bible Dictionary and New Interpreters Dictionary have excellent articles on every book of the bible. These articles will give you information about literary genres, what scholars theorize about authorship, social-historical context, etc. You can also look up biblical place names, characters in the bible, theological concepts and much more.

Critical Terms for Religious Studies
Rolvaag 5th floor: BL31 .C75 1998
Harpercollins Bible Dictionary
Rolvaag Ref: BS440 .H235 2011
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible
Rolvaag Ref: BS440 .E44 2000
The Anchor Bible Dictionary (6 vol. set)
Rolvaag Ref: BS440 .A54 1992
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (5 vol. set)
Rolvaag Ref: BS440 .I7 2006

Some specialized sources for background

Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible
Rolvaag Ref: BS440 .D495 2005
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
Rolvaag Ref: BS440 .E539 2009
The EBR "pursues the twofold task of (1) comprehensively recording . . . the current knowledge of the origins and development of the Bible in its Jewish and Christian canonical forms and (2) documenting the history of the Bible's reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements." -- EBR Introduction