Religion 121C: Belonging as Blessing and Challenge
Research Librarian
ATLA
ATLA is the primary database we use to find articles for the discipline of religion. ATLA can be searched using the same kinds of criteria you would use in CATALYST, i.e. Keyword, Title, Author. It can also be searched by Scripture Citation (John 3:16). Just use the drop down to the right of the Search box and set to "SC Scripture Citation".
- ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary sources in Black studies, including: introductory essays (full text), scholarly journal articles and magazine articles (some full-text access; covers articles published 1900-present), literary materials in Black newspapers and magazines (covers fiction, poetry, and reviews published 1827-1940), and digitized Black newspapers (covers materials published 1910-1993).
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus special reports, books, newsletters, and other materials in the areas of gender studies, women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer studies. Interdisciplinary and international. Covers materials published 1970-present.
Article Suggestions
- Habits of Hostility on Seeing RaceLinda Martin Alcoff.Philosophy Today, suppl. Philosophy in Body, Culture, and Time; Charlottesville Vol. 44, (2000): 30-40.
- Learning from the Outside Within: The Sociological Significance of Black Feminist ThoughtCollins, Patricia Hill. Social Problems. Vol. 33, No. 6, Special Theory Issue (Oct. - Dec., 1986), pp. S14-S32
Off-Campus Access
To access library resources (e.g.online indexes, databases, and e-journals) from off-campus please follow instructions below:
- Off Campus AccessWhen you access the resource, you will be prompted for your St. Olaf login and password (same as your St. Olaf e-mail account). Once you enter this information you will be able to access library resources as if you were on-campus.