Religion 121C: Belonging as Blessing and Challenge

For help with annotated bibliographies, check the MLA Handbook or the following web sites:

• How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (Cornell University)

• Annotated Bibliographies (Purdue University)

Note: Turabian is a version of Chicago style. If you are unable to figure out how to cite something in Turabian, consult the Chicago Manual of Style.

THE BIBLE

All citation styles have tables of acceptable abbreviations for biblical books.  Please check the official style guide for these.  MLA8 manual section 1.6.4; Chicago manual section 10.45; Turabian manual section 24.6; and SBL manual sections 8.3.1 & 8.3.2.

MLA

In-text citation

(The New Oxford Annotated Bible, John 3:16)
- subsequent citations only require the biblical citation, e.g. (Matthew 6:8) unless you are comparing translations and are using a second translation

Bibliography

The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, edited by Michael D. Coogan, Oxford UP, 2010.

Chicago/Turabian

Footnote/Endnote

1.  John 3:16 (New Revised Standard Version)
              - may be abbreviated as NRSV after the first reference to it.

Bibliography

Chicago/Turabian styles does not usually require citing the Bible in the bibliography.

 

---

CONCORDANCE

MLA

In-text citation

Generally not necessary to provide an in-text citation for a concordance.  If you make reference to using a concordance, your reader will know which one you used by consulting your bibliography.

Bibliography

Kohlenberger III, John R. "Covenant" The NRSV Concordance, Zondervan, 1991.

Chicago/Turabian

Footnote/Endnote

Generally not necessary to provide a footnote/endnote for a concordance.  If you make reference to using a concordance, your reader will know which one you used by consulting your bibliography.

Bibliography

Kohlenberger III, John R. The NRSV Concordance. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1991.

---

BIBLE DICTIONARY

MLA

In-text citation

(Thompson 954)

Bibliography

Thompson, Henry O. "Jordan River." The Anchor Bible Dictionary, edited by David N. Freedman, Doubleday. 1992.

Chicago/Turabian

Footnote/Endnote

1.  Anchor Bible Dictionary. (New York: Doubleday, 1992), s.v. "Jordan River."

Bibliography

Thompson, Henry O. "Jordan River." In Vol. 3, The Anchor Bible Dictionary, edited by David N. Freedman, 953-958.  New York: Doubleday, 1992.

 

---

COMMENTARIES

MLA

In-text citation

(Brown 85)

or

(Cullpepper, "Gospel of Luke", 9:55)

Bibliography

Brown, Raynond E. The Gospel According to John I-XII, Doubleday, 1966. The Anchor Bible.

or for a multi-volume commentary

Cullpepper, R. Alan. "The Gospel of Luke."  The New Interpreter's Bible. Vol. 9, Abingdon, 1995.  1-490.

Chicago/Turabian

Footnote/Endnote

1.  Raymond E. Brown, The Gospel According to John I-XII. (New York: Doubleday, 1966), 85.

or

1.  Cullpepper, "Gospel of Luke," 55.

Bibliography

Brown, Raymond E. The Gospel According to John I-XII. The Anchor Bible 29. New York: Doubleday, 1966.

or for a multi-volume commentary

Culpepper, R. Alan. "The Gospel of Luke." In The New Interpreter's Bible, 1-490. Vol. 9. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 1995.

 

---

 

For additional help, link here to the St. Olaf citation page where you will find links to citation style pages, citation generators and examples.