Social Work 261: Inclusive Practice with Groups, Organizations, and Communities

Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 786-3501

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies, Sociology/Anthropology

The Encyclopedia of Social Work
From Catalyst, click on "Oxford Reference Library" to access the e-book. Then, use the "Search within work" box to search only within the Encyclopedia of Social Work. Use the “In this Entry” sidebar as you're reading individual entries (Group Work & Groups respectively). Consider looking up relevant bibliography entries at the end of each page.
Social Workers' Desk Reference
From Catalyst, click on "Ebook Central Academic Complete" to access the e-book. From there, click on "Part IX Guidelines for Specific Interventions" and then "94 Best Practices in Social Work with Groups." Feel free to also try searching with keywords within this reference title.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports on current issues including health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes background information, overviews, pros and cons, and sources for further research. Covers materials published 1991-present.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.

Be aware that anyone can edit entries in Wikipedia.
Consider it as a starting point for research; get to know your topic and identify important keywords.
Look for references to reliable, published sources (in the References or Bibliography sections).
Pay attention to the alert boxes and symbols. "Featured Articles" have a star to indicate their high quality; articles that are in need of updating (e.g. citation needed, newly available information, relies too much on primary sources) will be marked at the top of the page.