LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Per the Puffin
they/them
Contact:
302 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
What is a Data Management Plans (DMP)?
A Data Management Plan (DMP) can be created for any scenario. They can be used to track data for a project, or for funding purposes. Research projects at St. Olaf are not typically required to have a DMP, however, if the project is part of a grant it is possible that the grant may require it.
Record the information in a way that makes the most sense for your project. These plans can include:
- Main point of contact for the project
- Who is the main contact for the project in the even that someone graduates or leaves the college?
- Account information, equipment, or software required for the project
- Who has main ownership? Is it stored in a Google Shared Drive?
- The type of data needed for the project
- Does the project require an IRB?
- Data collection/creation methods
- Roles needed for the project
- What type of results should you expect?
- This is not about what is right or wrong - for example, if you expect data to be in a CSV format, that can be documented.
- Do you have any sharing policies for the project?
- This can apply to any sensitive data - do you need approval to share information?
- Data storage policies and retention
- What do you need to keep, how long do you need to keep it?
(Source: University of Connecticut)
Data Management Plan Template
Working on your project and need a Data Management Plan template? Feel free to copy this template to your account and add, remove, or update information as needed. This template is created based on recommended best practices that we have at St. Olaf College for research projects.
These templates have been adapted from the NIH-Default DMSP template provided by the National Institutes of Health on the DMPTool website.
- Data Management Plan TemplateMake a copy to your account and fill in with project-specific information.
Additional Resources
- I need a data plan that follows a specific guideline! What does that look like? - DMPToolLooking for example data management plans that might need to follow specific funding requirements or guideliness? DMPTool provides public example of plans - filter out the plan to see specific examples.
The Encyclopedia of Big Data by
This encyclopedia will be an essential resource for our times, reflecting the fact that we currently are living in an expanding data-driven world. Technological advancements and other related trends are contributing to the production of an astoundingly large and exponentially increasing collection of data and information, referred to in popular vernacular as "Big Data." Social media and crowdsourcing platforms and various applications ― "apps" ― are producing reams of information from the instantaneous transactions and input of millions and millions of people around the globe. The Internet-of-Things (IoT), which is expected to comprise tens of billions of objects by the end of this decade, is actively sensing real-time intelligence on nearly every aspect of our lives and environment. The Global Positioning System (GPS) and other location-aware technologies are producing data that is specific down to particular latitude and longitude coordinates and seconds of theday. Large-scale instruments, such as the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), are collecting massive amounts of data on our planet and even distant corners of the visible universe. Digitization is being used to convert large collections of documents from print to digital format, giving rise to large archives of unstructured data. Innovations in technology, in the areas of Cloud and molecular computing, Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning, and Natural Language Processing (NLP), to name only a few, also are greatly expanding our capacity to store, manage, and process Big Data. In this context, the Encyclopedia of Big Data is being offered in recognition of a world that is rapidly moving from gigabytes to terabytes to petabytes and beyond. While indeed large data sets have long been around and in use in a variety of fields, the era of Big Data in which we now live departs from the past in a number of key respects and with thisdeparture comes a fresh set of challenges and opportunities that cut across and affect multiple sectors and disciplines, and the public at large. With expanded analytical capacities at hand, Big Data is now being used for scientific inquiry and experimentation in nearly every (if not all) disciplines, from the social sciences to the humanities to the natural sciences, and more. Moreover, the use of Big Data has been well established beyond the Ivory Tower. In today''s economy, businesses simply cannot be competitive without engaging Big Data in one way or another in support of operations, management, planning, or simply basic hiring decisions. In all levels of government, Big Data is being used to engage citizens and to guide policy making in pursuit of the interests of the public and society in general. Moreover, the changing nature of Big Data also raises new issues and concerns related to, for example, privacy, liability, security, access, and even the veracity of the data itself. Given the complex issues attending Big Data, there is a real need for a reference book that covers the subject from a multi-disciplinary, cross-sectoral, comprehensive, and international perspective. The Encyclopedia of Big Data will address this need and will be the first of such reference books to do so. Featuring some 500 entries, from "Access" to "Zillow," the Encyclopedia will serve as a fundamental resource for researchers and students, for decision makers and leaders, and for business analysts and purveyors. Developed for those in academia, industry, and government, and others with a general interest in Big Data, the encyclopedia will be aimed especially at those involved in its collection, analysis, and use. Ultimately, the Encyclopedia of Big Data will provide a common platform and language covering the breadth and depth of the topic for different segments, sectors, and disciplines.
ISBN: 9783319320090Publication Date: 2022
